This article discusses what many will not, personal bias. The author even goes one step further in examining her biases against her own people. It gives a clear and frightening look into how people of color can internalize the racism and oppression they’ve experienced and turn it on themselves and/or their peers. The messages portrayed in the media, school curriculum, and society as a whole are so negative and demeaning and pervasive that we as people of color often apply them to ourselves without even being aware.

I harbor prejudices about people like me: Black and living in the inner city. However, I wasn’t fully aware of it until one night I hobbled on to the number one subway train on Manhattan’s Upper West Side using my cane.

http://nikabeamon.com/2015/10/17/confronting-my-prejudices-about-people-like-me/